Baby On Board

Standard
Baby On Board

A unique journey we had, the most memorable one. It’s not a travel post but I think it’s worth sharing it on our page. Still, we’ll use our tagline, “Kaja let’s go… to my pregnancy journey & start of our parenthood!”

Yes, I am and was pregnant, Kaja Let’s Go are now both proud parents. We’ve been inactive on this page and was so busy with this different kind of trip. Our baby’s estimated due date is February 5, or till February 12. Dear and I both aimed for a normal delivery. Here it goes…

June 17, 2018 – Just a few days from my birthday staycation, we just casually tried to have a pregnancy test, no expectations. I don’t have the usual pregnancy symptoms, it’s just that I still haven’t got my monthly period and those past few weeks, I often felt lazy & sleepy. The P.T. went positive, we even tried another P.T. the next day, and it still got a positive result.

June 23, 2018 – I had my official 1st trimester ultrasound, I am pregnant for more than 6 weeks. We kept this good news to ourselves till July 1, when we officially announced it to our families and friends.

1st trimester ultrasound

My 1st to 2nd trimester of pregnancy were just fine. I had lab tests and monthly check ups.

Quick food trips and down south road trips. We have a scheduled domestic flight during our 5th month, but we canceled it for safety reasons.

Gender reveal photoshoot on our 6th month.

It’s a girl!

Filipinos often use the term “lihi” which includes weird food cravings, strong changes in the mom’s mood, fond of unusual things, etc. But I did not experienced that. I am my normal self all throughout, craved the food that I usually like and even ate healthier that I did before.

I am still going to work up to the day before I gave birth. After work, I usually go the malls and have an hour or so of walking. I had my office to home commuting by myself till I reached 7th month.

Entering the 3rd trimester, we’re now busy for the holidays. Prepared for baby’s essential stuff instead of unnecessary holiday spending.

Had to resist the holiday feasts temptations, I was on a diet c/o Dear, even stricter than our Doctor, but it’s effective and it did paid off when I gave birth.

Going into Christmas holidays

January was a busy month, both at work and at home. Had to be always ready since my maternity leave can start anytime. Pregnancy check ups increased from every 2 weeks to weekly. We also had to let go of our 2 fur babies, Percy and Sunny since it might affect baby’s health, we just retained our first cat, Xiammy (the Siamese cat).

37 weeks

Xiammy, Sunny, Percy

January 16, 2019 – A surprise baby shower at work.

This also started the days where most of the people at work often asked me, “When is your baby’s due date?.. “Aren’t you going on leave yet?” And the questions kept coming..haha

January 19, 2019 – Official 3rd trimester ultrasound and we’re so excited.

3rd trimester ultrasound

Sometimes, I experience pelvic pain..pelvic pressure, waking up in the wee hours, I’ve been walking like a penguin too. Everything gets bigger and harder for me to do. But we trust our doctor every time she says that it’s still safe for me to go to work. Dear is always reminding me to walk, do my prenatal exercises too.

January 26, 2019 – Doctor said my cervix is still thick but 1cm dilated, baby’s in posterior position.

February 2, 2019 – Cervix is still thick and doctor said baby’s hiding, baby’s still in posterior position. My next check up is February 9, I have to undergo a BPS ultrasound to check if it’s safe for me and baby to get induced.

February 4, 2019 – Starting the work week of a new month. I bought my lunch at the canteen when I had a different kind of pain in my lower abdomen, it radiates in pelvic area, right leg, sometimes even in vaginal area. I continued working and observed the pains, it’s bearable. But to be sure, I asked Dear to pick me up at work and we went to the OB GYNE health clinic for an emergency check up.

3:30pm – The pain went off when I was examined, attending midwife said that pain was due to urinary tract infection. Yes, I got a U.T.I though I am just a few days away from delivery. My cervix is dilated at 2cm and baby’s still way up. So, was it a false alarm all along?

We went home, had dinner, it was just a usual night for us. I did my exercises, took a quick shower.

8:00pm – Already resting when I felt the pain again. It started on my lower back/pelvic area but still bearable.

Logged the pain intervals (labor na pala yun)

9:00pm – There’s still pain and it’s now hard to describe, I thought it was just from U.T.I but it’s different as minutes went by. I am sweating then I will feel cold. Dear told me to observe, time the pain intervals, log it, and if I can still sleep it out, since we plan to visit the clinic tomorrow with / without pains.

10:37pm – This is really something, I can’t log the time anymore and I don’t care if it’s another false alarm, I want to go the clinic and just be checked.

11:15pm – We arrived at the clinic, still in pain. I was further checked and Dear’s not allowed to accompany me anymore on the other room.

12:11am onwards – I was given an IV fluid and a shot of oxytocin (if I recalled correctly) to alleviate the pain. IE was done and I was just texting with Dear whenever I can, he said I was inside the Labor Room already.

Labor it is.

Labor Room? Soooo, this is the labor stage. I am in labor! Another indescribable pain and experience, if only I can personally tell it to you hehe. I prefer to stand up and sometimes sit on the bed, instead of lying down.

1:27am onwards – Another IE done, cervix dilated 5-6cm, 70% effacement, I’m still texting with Dear.

Labor pains went on but the intervals are longer. My next IE is 3:00am, the nurse and midwife were asking me to lie down on the bed, but no.. I found it more painful. Minutes were getting longer that I don’t want to look at the clock anymore. When I get tired, I sit down for a few minutes then stand up again.

Around 2:45am – I woke up the nurse and advised her that it still hurts. After another IE, they asked if I can still stand so we can now go to the Delivery Room.

Inside the Delivery Room is another story and a level up version. I can go into details but it’ll make this post longer haha. I was conscious all throughout the delivery process, I’ve been a good girl and followed my doctor, the midwife and nurses instructions.

3:43am – Inhale, exhale, take a deep inhale..hold your breath and puuuussh! Finally, baby’s out via normal delivery. Thank God and thank you Nanay.

Delivery Room

There you are…

4:55am – I was transferred to the Recovery Area and Dear can now see me, we’re now a family of three.

Visited by my family

The day after, baby had her newborn screening and we’re both discharged. Baby also had her hearing test just this afternoon.

Hearing test

Having a baby is a big surprise and gift for us. We had no expectations, we’re just enjoying our marriage for years now. We believe that she’s truly a God’s gift and blessing, I also think my Nanay (mom) sent her to us. She’s still guiding and continuously loving us from the heavens.

Kaja Let’s Go Baby

We’re in a bliss, excited and so thankful. Looking forward to next adventures and trips of Kaja Let’s Go with baby Johanna Mira!

Leave a comment